10 Questions with… Squishy P’s Sew Shop

IMG_3817  I’m hoping to every once in awhile have a fun 10 questions with some of our contributors to the Indie Craft Sampler. Some serious, but mostly fun questions. Our second installment is with Priscilla from   Squishy P’s Sew Shop.

 1. So what is the story behind your name Squishy P’s Sew Shop?
 When I first opened my Etsy shop I was only making throw pillow cases so I thought Squishy for the pillows and also it’s my boyfriends nickname for me, I then added the initial of my first name and so    Squishy P’s Sew Shop was born.
 2. I read that you only learned to sew 2 years ago & now you have your own shop…that is so inspiring to me! Are there any other crafting mediums you would like to try and learn next?

 My boyfriend and I recently spent some time on a farm in Big Sur helping with the animals and milking the goats. It really inspired us since we are such animal lovers to one day own some goats of our own   and  make goat cheese. Of course I don’t think I will be adding the cheese to my Etsy shop 😉
 3. You are a dog mom- tell us about “the kids”…
We have 2 rescued dogs a 4 year old Australian Kelpie mix named Phia and 3 year old Chiuahua Whippet mix named Annie. There is never a dull moment in IMG_3819the house with these two around. We rescued Phia when we were living abroad in Singapore. I was volunteering at the local SPCA and well it was adoption at first sight. We brought her back to LA with us and about a year later we saw the little ones face online through Petfinder and we knew we had to adopt her. We have had to work with both of them on rehabilitation of certain issues but with lots of love and patience we have two very well balanced, behaved and happy pups that go with us pretty much everywhere.
4. What is the hardest part about being a small indie business?
The hardest part of being an Indie business owner of course is exposure. I do some craft fairs but honestly some of them are just way to expensive to participate in for the smaller crafters. This leaves us to only do Etsy where you can easily get lost in the sea of amazingly great crafters. This is why I was so EXCITED to be a part of this new sampler program. Letting people get to see my stuff who normally might not.
5. What was your favorite TV show as a kid?

With a doubt it was Wonder Woman with Linda Carter. The one night a week that Wonder Woman aired my mom made me a T.V. Dinner (always Salisbury Steak) and I got to eat it in front of the television. It was such a treat but I always burned my mouth on the chocolate brownie!
6. Any celebrity crushes?

I’ve had a few over the years. Christian Slater/Luke Perry in my teens, Ethan Hawke in my twenties and Jon Hamm in my thirties.
7. Dumbest movie you’ve ever seen?

Tyler Perry’s Temptation. I knew it was going to be bad but I guess I was just to tempted to see Kim K’s acting.
IMG_38218. What was your most embarrassing fashion moment or hair style?

I guess it would have to be the side ponytail with the scrunchies. I thought I was soooo cool then, but looking at it now I just cringe.
9. What song do you love to dance to?

Daft Punks’s Get Lucky pretty much that whole album and of course any 80’s songs.
10. Why should people visit your shop?

I hope people who visit my shop are looking for handmade kitschy items made with luf from my own home to theirs. Also they can rest easy knowing not only are they supporting a small business by buying from me but that I am also supporting small businesses by where I shop for fabric and supplies. In both LA and now the Bay Area I have found local and long time fabric stores that I frequent and only support. This way customers both directly and indirectly support sustainable and independent businesses.

Priscilla has her fabric wallets to go out in 25 September samplers. If you haven’t purchased a Sampler yet click here.

Make sure to check out Squishy P’s Sew Shop for her wallets, pillows & cup cozies.
Leave a Reply

