10 Questions with…Bonnie & Twill

Ashley from Bonnie & Twill. Indie Craft Sampler Every week we have been having a fun “10 questions” session with some of our contributors to the Indie Craft Sampler. Some serious, but mostly fun questions. Our fourth installment is with Ashley from Bonnie and Twill   (to read our other 10 question interviews click here).

1. How long have you been sewing? I got my sewing machine as a Christmas gift from my dad when I was in middle school (around 2002) and experimented with pillows but lost interest for a few years. I made a few simple items here and there through high school but really started getting into it over the last 3 years.

2. Is there a story behind the name “Bonnie and Twill”? The name comes from two characters in The Hunger Games book “Catching Fire”. They are minor characters in the book and nonexistant in the movie, but I liked the names and because twill is a type of fabric, I thought it fit well.

3. Best advice another crafty/indie shop owner has given you? Do you have any advice for others? Be outgoing! That is the best advice I have ever been given. I am a naturally shy person and it was tough at first. I used to do a lot of craft shows and events so being outgoing was a must to make sales. Someone is more likely to purchase for you if you’ve made a personal connection with them. Also a fair few times it has turned into a great networking opportunity! My advice is that; be outgoing and be genuine about it. Make friends with other crafters. Not only is it good for networking, it’s good for the soul 🙂

4. How/where do you get ideas for new shop items? It usually starts off with someone I know asking me to make them something, or I need to make something for myself and I have a go at it. The seemingly random small pet snuggle sacks in my shop came about because of my love of hedgehogs. Owning two myself, they needed some and I gave it a shot and have a lot of custom requests coming through on Instagram. I try to keep my ladyhogs’ account and business account separate but on theirs is where I get approached for requests.

5. Some things that you loved as a child? I used to be obsessed with cows! I still like them and think they’re cute, but I used to go nuts when I’d see a pasture full of them, and living in a largely agricultural county, there’s a lot. Also, of course I loved being with my family, but particularly my sister and cousin. We would be at my grandma’s house for the weekend and end up outside mostly. We used to climb up into her magnolia tree and make up songs and sing them until the sun went down. I also really loved rollie pollies.

6. What is the last thing you learned? Hmm of course it has to do with sewing, but I learned how to do a french seam! Very handy because my serger just broke. It leaves a nice clean10547070_1443757019231186_1825546423_n edge.

7. The song that you play the most? Currently I am obsessed with Andrew McMahon and the Wilderness’ “Cecilia and the Satellite” I’ve been an Andrew fan since his days with Something Corporate and Jack’s Mannequin. It is just such a heartfelt song that is so full of love.

8. A sound that you love? I love the sounds that books make. The cracking of the spine when you open a hardcover. When you thumb the pages of a paperback. Setting a heavy textbook on the desk and opening it sloppily to any page so it stays open, then finding the page you need. I love them all.

9. Any celebrity crushes? Joseph Gordon-Levitt, what a dreamboat! He seems pretty down to earth and I admire the work he does for hitRECord.

10. Why should people visit your shop? You never know what you might find! Haha. But really.

Bonnie and Twill have headwraps that will be included in 75 of the September samplers.  If you haven’t purchased a Sampler yet click here.

Also check out Bonnie and Twill for hedgehog snuggle sacks, pouches, skirts, & even a Mario 8 bit quilt. Pretty rad.

bonnieandtwill

 

Leave a Reply

