10 Questions with…Krucial Cosmetics

IMG_20140620_093624Every week we have a fun “10 questions” session with some of our contributors to the Indie Craft Sampler. Some serious, but mostly fun questions. Our third installment for our October Sampler Contributors is with our super colossal contributor Kaitlyn from Krucial Cosmetics.

1. What got you interested in cosmetics?

I’ve always been interested since I was a child. The whole time growing up my mom had these insanely long nails that she always filed to a sharp point (hmmm… those are in fashion now). They were ALWAYS painted red. Around age 9 I started to make my own all-natural face masks, hair masks, scrubs, etc. I would give myself, mom, grandmother, and aunts “spa days”. I’ve also been in the fashion industry since then, modeling and competing in pageants.

2. What is the hardest part of being a crafty small business owner?

There are SO many other small business owners in the same industry. It’s hard to get a market share at first. It takes lots of time, patience, and persistence to get the word out to others and to encourage them to try your products over someone else’s.

3. Best advice another crafty/indie shop owner has given you? Do you have any advice for others?

“Don’t give up!” is the best advice I’ve gotten. There are times when things are frustrating, but you have to push through!

My advice is to do your research. Make sure you know as much as possible. Whether it be about your craft or about the legal side of running a business. Be knowledgeable!

4. How/where do you get ideas for new shop items?

My boyfriend Ryan always has great ideas. He is always brainstorming with me. We have a Gaming Nailpolish Collection coming out. It is based on his obsession with playing Counterstrike. He’s named all of the polishes in that collection.

Other ideas just come from browsing online in supplies shops and definitely playing around with ingredients.

5. Is there a story behind your name “Krucial Cosmetics”?

Yes! Ryan helped me brainstorm names. We knew it was going to be an all-natural and organic line of products. I’m not sure how he came up with it, but it worked! Our products are “Krucial” to have and to use, especially since they contain no harsh or harmful chemicals.
6. What was the best Halloween costume you’ve ever had?

I’m a huge nerd and history buff. I had this whole thing planned out…. Each Halloween I was going to wear a time-period costume in ascending order. I was a pilgrim for Halloween in 5th or 6th grade. I made the whole outfit myself. Needless to say, it didn’t pan out. I bought the pattern and materials to make my colonial 1700s dress but never finished it. But I will…eventually 🙂

10661761_259785847479209_9206695396393967722_o

7. What movies could you watch over and over and still love?

Matilda and anything Adam Sandler.

8. If you had a time machine, where and when would you go?

I LOVE fashion from the Renaissance period (think Marie Antoinette) and the Colonial American times. So I’d love to go back to either.

9. Tell us about a unique or quirky habit you have?

I asked Ryan for the answer to this one: “Yeah! You like making a mess!”  I am an organized mess. I am not a fan of technology…. Paper and pens all the way! As I think and brainstorm, papers pile up and things go everywhere, until I’ve barricaded myself into my workstation. I can’t think when things are neat, and I can never find anything either (believe it or not!).

10. Why should people visit your shop?I have polishes in every color of the rainbow! There’s something for everyone. I add new products regularly (usually every month) so there’s always something new to try! I’m working on some really cool things at the moment, so definitely check-in with us soon! Go check it out now!

 

Kaitlyn contributed 175 full size nail polishes, lip balms & sugar scrubs so every sampler will get to try her great cosmetics! *Buy an October sampler*KrucialCosmetics
Leave a Reply

