10 Questions with… Tonya from LonesomePineShoppe

GT4new_largeEvery week we have a fun “10 questions” session with some of our contributors to the Indie Craft Sampler. Some serious, but mostly fun questions. Our first installment for the November Sampler Contributors is with Tonya from LonesomePineShoppe.

 1. How did you start making things?
Thanks to 4-H, I’ve been crocheting, sewing, and needlepointing since I was about eight years old. During my teens and early 20s, I got away from it for a bit, but now that I’m a 30-something married lady, I’ve come back to crafting with a vengeance. Sites like Etsy and Pinterest have helped fuel my interest in all things crafty!

 

2. What is the hardest part about being a small indie business?
I’m fairly new to the world of Etsy, so you might want to ask me that question in another year or so! Currently, though, I think the hardest part is finding time to make things. I have a full-time job on top of my Etsy shop, and I also publish three blogs: In a Pretty Package (http://inaprettypackage.blogspot.com), MiEtsy (http://mietsy.blogspot.com), and The Lonesome Pine (http://thelonesomepine.blogspot.com). (Do you like my not-so-subtle attempt at self-promotion here?) So sometimes time is at a premium.

 

3. What is the best advice another shop owner has given you? Do you have any advice for others?
I’ve had several Etsy sellers emphasize the importance of patience, and the need to realize that you probably won’t get a lot of sales during your first weeks, or even months, on Etsy. That was reassuring to hear, and it has given me the ability to slow down, create plans, consider my products, and grow my shop slowly and carefully so that it’ll be “in it” for the long run. I suppose that would be my advice to other sellers as well.

 

 4. Where do you get inspiration for new items for your shop?
I sell only those items that I would wear or use myself, so if I’m looking at a pattern or photo of an accessory or garment, and I absolutely love it, you can bet that I’ll be offering my own version of it sooner or later.

 

HENRY 137

Henry the dog

5. What is the most played song on your iPod?
My iPod’s charging cord has disappeared, and I’ve been too lazy to buy a new one, so I haven’t listened to my iPod in ages. However, on my Amazon Music Library, the song “Happy” by Pharrell does some steady business. So does Weird Al’s spoof of it, “Tacky.”

 

6. Any celebrity crushes?
Hugh Jackman is a nice-looking man. So is Detroit Tigers head coach Brad Ausmus. Go ahead, Google him. You’ll see what I mean.

 

7. What are some things you were obsessed with when you were a child?
I LOVED to read (and still do). Loved The Baby-Sitters Club and Nancy Drew. And I know it’s “cool” to hate clowns now, but I was actually legitimately afraid of them when I was a kid. Sesame Street ran a segment in which a clown took off his makeup (presumably to show children that it’s just a guy underneath all that stuff), and I would run out of the room every time the segment came on because I was so freaked out. [Ed.Note: Now that you said that I TOTALLY remember that and was horrified as well! Happy Halloween! lol! -tenika]

 

8. What is your favorite word? Least favorite?
Favorite: Serendipity
Least favorite: Panty. Ugh. Can’t STAND the word “panty.”  [Ed.Note: I hear ya, “panties” just makes me cringe.every.time.]

 

9. Do you have any weird nicknames?
Not now, but when I was a kid my family called me weird names like “Toenail” and “Tama-lama-ding-dong.” Okay, I might actually still get called these names on occasion.

 

10. And finally, why should people visit your shop?
Because I offer a free puppy with every purchase! Or, more likely, because I continually update it with cute, fashionable, high-quality, handmade clothing, accessories, and jewelry. Please “favorite” my shop on Etsy and follow it on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Lonesome-Pine/464762236999487) so that you’ll stay up to date on new products, discounts, and special offers!
The LP sign
 Tonya contributed 75 cross stitch patterns with a certain Game of Thrones character (don’t want to ruin the surprise since her sneak peek hasn’t run yet!) November samplers will go on sale tomorrow so you can get one then to make sure to get one! But for now if you have not already purchased an October sampler box click here.
Leave a Reply

