10 Questions with…Stephanie Kelley from Steph’s Stuph

Every week or so we like to have a fun “10 questions” session with one of our contributors to the Indie Craft Sampler. Some serious, but mostly fun questions. This week we are talking with another of our February contributors, Stephanie from Steph’s Stuph.Photo © Ashly Covington, CovingtonPortraits.com
1. Tell us about how you got started  with holistic wellness/reflexology?

About 6 years ago I started getting acupuncture on a regular basis to help me w/ migraines & vertigo….and I got hooked. I’ve always been a “holistic” type person, so I transitioned into that lifestyle easily.  I began brushing up on my reiki training & then heard about reflexology.  After getting nationally certified in reflexology, I started dabbling in aromatherapy (Steph’s Stuph was born after I finished my certification in aromatherapy) and then I began incorporating ayurvedic practices, like my hot stone treatment, into my bag of tricks.  Currently I’m in the process of thinking about starting certification for nutrition & lifestyle coaching!

2. What is the best advice another shop owner has give you? Do you have any advice for others?
The best advice I’ve ever received from another shop owner was to have great pics.  When I first opened my shop I took product pictures behind a red wall…and….well….it was atrocious!  Then I called a photographer friend & got her to take pics, posted those & my shop stats have soared since then.

For other shop owners, I would say it’s important to constantly promote your shop on social media…but also to like & promote other shops you’re interested in.  We’re all in this together & if you pat someone else’s back, they may pat yours back!

3. What is your favorite product that you sell?

My favorite product(s)- I can’t decide between the Grounding spray (I use it every night on my bedsheets) or the Maple Hill (bourbon) candle or the Nana’s Pecan Pie candle (inspired by the smell after my nana made fresh ones in her home).

4. What is the most played song on your iPod?

Either ‘Blackbird’ by the Beatles or ‘Defying Gravity’ from the musical Wicked.

5. You live in Brooklyn, what is some things that you love/don’t love about living there…
I love about Brooklyn- …that i’m only 3 blocks from Prospect Park & Iove to spend weekends there; there aren’t as many honking taxi’s as in Manhattan…and the fact I have a backyard!

I don’t love so much about Brooklyn- having to commute on the subway in & out of Manhattan during rush hour (I avoid it at all costs), and the fact that’s it’s SO hard to get between Brooklyn & Queens (where many friends live).

6. You are also a SAG actress..very cool…have you been in any movies?

I have been in some movies.  A lot of them are indie films that went through the festival circuit.  But- I was in ‘Cry Wolf’ ( a larger scale indie film), and was Rachel McAdams double in ‘Wedding Crashers’.  I’ve also done numerous commercials (Dollar Tree, Hanes Underwear, Anti-smoking, etc) and lots of stage/theatre work.

Stephanie in "Beer. Chocolate, or You"

Stephanie in “Beer. Chocolate, or You”

7. What is the last thing you learned?

I’m currently doing a world premiere of a new play called ‘Delirium’s Daughters’ at Theatre Row in New York.  In rehearsal I learned that in Italy they called the Pope, “papa”.  I thought that’s just what I called my grandpa!

8. What is your favorite word? Least favorite?
Favorite word- love

Least favorite- moist (ewwww!!!!)

9. Do you have any weird nicknames?

Weird nicknames….well.. my family called me “onion head” until I was about 2 b/c I barely had any hair.  My papa calls me “Snoopy” and my mom calls me “Monkey”…still to this day!

10. Finally, why should people visit your shop?
People should visit my shop because I have many things to offer!  I have a line of linen & body sprays, hand & body salves, and goats milk soaps- all made with high end essential oils.  The candles I sell are also amazing!  They’re based on 3 different lines- “Bourbon-” all based on scent profiles of high end bourbons (there are NO OTHER candles in the world I’ve been able to find that do what I do for this brand), “Eat”- based on scrumptious smelling food & meals, and “Heal”- all efficacy based to help with certain conditions you may be facing (headaches, energy, depression, concentration, etc).
 ss_1x1_color
Steph’s Stuph contributed  50 items to the February sampler including mini candles in “Nana’s Pecan Pie” scent, body spray in “Love” which is jasmine and patchouli and “Grounding” linen spray with bergamot, vetiver & cedarwood. Purchase your sampler here! 🙂
Leave a Reply

