10 Questions with… Elissa from Sew Geeky Sachets

Every week or so we like to have a fun “10 questions” session with one of our contributors to the Indie Craft Sampler. Some serious, but mostly fun questions. This week we are talking with another of our February contributors, Elissa from Sew Geeky Sachets.image11. What gave you the inspiration to start making sachets? 

I did a fundraiser for the National Breast Cancer Foundation selling Sachets with a Purpose. After that I realized I kept thinking of different things to stamp on sachets. Soon I had so many I gave them their own name & Etsy shop; thus Sew Geeky Sachets was born.

2. What is the best advice another shop owner has give you? Do you have any advice for others?

Don’t give up. Running your own business isn’t easy and there are going to be setbacks and frustrations so make sure you celebrate the wins no matter how small and never surrender your passion.

3. You call yourself a “new sewer”. Are there any other crafting mediums you would like to try and learn next?

I’ve never been afraid to jump into anything that interests me. I would really like to make myself some clothes from a pattern. When I upcycle I’m usually going pattern-free. But it would be nice to add some more items to my wardrobe that are customized to fit me. Also I really want to learn to play the ukulele.

4. What is the hardest part about being a small indie business?

Constantly promoting yourself and your business can seem draining. It’s important to get over the fear of talking about yourself and what you do to complete strangers.

5. If you could have any superpower what would it be?
Definitely the ability to fly, sometimes I am envious of birds.
image2
6. Any celebrity crushes?

Of course, but I feel like they are more character crushes than celebrity crushes; Benedict Cumberbatch as Sherlock, William Peterson as Gil Grissom, and Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy.

7. Dumbest movie you’ve ever seen?

The Box and I still blame my best friend Jordan for the choice. In fact, I won’t let her live it down. A few years ago she bought me a copy as a gag gift.

8. What was your most embarrassing fashion moment or hair style?

This would definitely be my 9th grade homecoming dance. It was a triple threat my hair was done in lots of spiral curls in a side ponytail. My dress was black spandex with a cutout shoulders and it was topped off with a gold chain belt. I swear I looked more like a lady of the night than a high schooler. I still cringe at the photo.

9. What song do you love to dance to?

The Violent Femmes-Add It Up

10. Why should people visit your shop?
My sachets are unique and funny. They make great gifts & smell amazing. I’m always coming up with new designs and I happily do custom orders.
sewgeekysachetslogoSew Geeky Sachets contributed 100 of her lovely sachets for the March samplers. If you have not purchased yours yet click HERE.
Leave a Reply

