10 Questions With…Audrey from Paper Plain Designs

Every week or so we like to have a fun “10 questions” session with one of our contributors to the Indie Craft Sampler. Some serious, but mostly fun questions. This week we are talking with another of our March contributors, Audrey from Paper Plain Designs.

1. What made you decide to open a card shop?

Paper Plain Designs

“getting down to business in my parent’s basement which was my “studio” when I first started out!

I have always had a hard time finding the perfect card to send to family and friends, and I hated that everything in the stores was so lame/sappy/corny…so I began painting cards of my own, rather than buying them. People started asking where they could purchase them, and that’s when my first Etsy shop was born!

2. What is the best advice another shop owner has give you? Do you have any advice for others?

The best advice I’ve ever gotten is: “don’t wait until you know who you are to get started” and “you are ready, start making stuff”. I always had a reason why I thought I shouldn’t really start, hold me back. When I realized that I did have the tools, the creativity, the sense, to do this…that is when things started happening.

3. Where do you get inspiration for new designs for your shop? What is your favorite card or item you make?

I get inspiration from everywhere. I read a book called “Steal Like An Artist” (Austin Kleon) and it really opened my eyes to different ways to find inspiration, and then make it your own.  I keep a sketchbook with me and I am constantly writing down quotes, snapping pictures of designs that catch my eye, and jotting down ideas there.

4. Is there a story behind your name “Paper Plain Design”?
When I first opened my shop in 2011, it was called Long Live Snail Mail…but when I decided to rebrand, I wanted to give myself the room to expand my product line in the future if I wanted, to not only include cards, but other paper goods as well. I changed over to Paper Plain Designs for no other reason but that I love a good pun! 🙂

5. If you could trade lives with one person for an entire day who would it be and why?
Ellen Degeneres. Hands down.

6. What is something you’ve always wanted to try but have been too scared to?
I have been wanting to tap more into the digital world of paper (graphic design, etc) but I feel that the fact that I create all of my designs without the use of a computer, sets me apart from other paper designers in the industry. I do think that I could benefit from learning some basics, but for now I’m staying old-school.

7. What celebrity annoys you?
I guess Taylor Swift can get under my skin…but thats just what everyone says (haters gonna hate!)

Audrey Batts

8. Who or what inspires you?

I am inspired by anyone who is willing to try something. I was scared for a long time to start this business (for so many reasons) so I always feel invigorated and inspired when I hear other people’s success stories, because I see where they are and realize they started out just where I did…painting in my parent’s basement!

9. If you were going to go to the movies alone, what would be the perfect film for you to watch by yourself?

I honestly cannot tell you the last time I went to the movies. I’m too antsy to sit still that long. I feel like I’m wasting time or something…

10. And finally, why should people visit your shop?

People should visit my shop to find products that are relatable/honest/fresh and fun. My cards range from cute and funny, to sarcastic and blatantly honest (to a fault). I provide top quality products, that anyone will enjoy. Plus, who wouldn’t want to brighten up someone’s mailbox with something other than bills and circular ads?
PaperPlainDesignsLogo
Paper Plain Designs contributed 50 hand water colored greeting cards to our March samplers.  They are awesome! If you would like to purchase a sampler with one of Audrey’s cards in it & at least 11 other amazing handmade items click HERE.

Paper Plain Designs
Leave a Reply

