10 Questions with… Sara Louise Tucker

Every week or so we like to have a fun “10 questions” session with one of our contributors to the Indie Craft Sampler. Some serious, but mostly fun questions. This week we are talking with one of our April contributors, Sara Louise Tucker

1. When do you know you wanted to be an artist? Sara Louise Tucker

When I was around 15 I started drawing, but very often I would be absolutely disgusted with what I had drawn, like a physical feeling of being almost ready to puke. For real! It was so strange and I did not experience this with anything else I did, so I just had to keep trying until I was able to draw something that did not produce that effect. Finally, when I was able to draw something that didn’t horrify me, I felt such a relief. I thought there was something to this so I have never stopped trying to not disgust myself since. But still today, omg, in some drawings that same feeling peeks in a little detail so I keep going.

 2. In your info I saw that you you spend half the year in Lisbon, Portugal. Tell us about that amazing opportunity…

I grew up in Portugal, but I have been in the U.S. on and off for 20 years now. Lisbon is one of the greatest cities ever. I would recommend visiting it to everyone who hasn’t. It also has a great art and cultural scene. I’ll be going there in a few months again. Can’t wait!

3. Your work focuses on nostalgic imagery from the 60’s and 70’s. What got you interested in this time period?

I believe the cultural and design aspects of this period have become iconic of modern day society. Much like the Greeks made the statues of gods and gymnasts, we have the movie and rock stars of the 60s and 70s as our heroes. Many objects from that period cary layers of significance that are immediate and ingrained in our culture. If I make a drawing of painting of a Viewmaster, for instance, the viewer might not know what it is but it somehow represents what I like to call a nostalgy for the future, a futuristic object coming from the past. In those times there was an optimism in a brilliant scientific future and it comes across in a lot of design from that era. Anyway, regardless of how one interprets it, objects and graphics from that era have a tendency to be iconic and represent multiple layers of meaning, so they are very interesting to me as an artist.

 4. Where do you get inspiration for new art work?

I get inspirations mostly from reading, music and film. I also tend to work doing a series and not individual pieces, so when something strikes me as interesting, either because of its content or its graphic properties, the first thing I do is look for other similar examples of that object or topic. If there is a possibility of a series I may start doing it, however I have to feel a strong sort of impulse to do it at this point, if I don’t feel that I save my research in a folder on the computer and leave it. I have hundred on unrealized ideas stored this way.

 5. What is the view like out your bedroom window?SLT

Trees. Nothing but trees.

 6. What was the best Halloween costume you ever had?

I am not a big halloween person, however the best costume I have ever made was for my kids, they were dice. It is a very easy craft with cardboard boxes, white paint and black sticker paper. They looked great. Look it up online, Halloween Dice Costume or something, there are many examples.

 7. Do you have any recurring dreams? What about?

The type of dream I have the reoccurs a lot is arriving at a town or a place (the places vary) and trying to find someone there but not being able too, I try to call them but somehow either I don’t remember their number or something happens that stops me from doing so. I try to go look for them at their home but I get lost. And so on and on. I’ve had this dream with several people as subjects, usually people I really want to see. What do you suppose that means? Another recurring dream I had was going through my grandfather’s house and finding new rooms and secret passageways, that was a great dream. Haven’t had it in a while, though.

 8. If you could have chosen your own name, what would it be?

I did chose my name! 🙂

 9. If you had a time machine, where and when would you go?

The future, definitely the future.

 10. And finally, why should people visit your shop?

I love Etsy and what it stands for. I hate the over inflated art world and at Etsy artists and craftspeople are able to skip the middleman and sell their products directly. In my opinion the most interesting work in art is being produced today in venues like this. I think we should support all artists on Etsy, including me, we are changing how art is done and how artists can live off their art in a more honest and direct way. So, yes, please visit Etsy today and buy something directly from an artist. This is the way to go and I know that we all thank and appreciate so much everyone who supports us in this way!

STUDIO

 

Sara Louise Tucker is a super colossal contributor for the April Samplers where she contributed 100 of her amazing illustrations. Her Etsy shop is still waiting for it’s first sale so go visit, show her love & support a great artist!

saralouisetucker

Leave a Reply

