10 Questions with…Amanda of Silla Dilla Grape

MeEvery week we like to have a fun “10 questions” session with one of our contributors to the Indie Craft Sampler. Some serious, but mostly fun questions. This week we are talking with one of our April contributors, Amanda from Silla Dilla Grape.

  1. Is there a story behind your shop name “Silla Dilla Grape”?

When I was a little girl my favorite thing to do was to play in my backyard. I would make mud pies that I would pretend sell to the squirrels from my pretend mud pie shop. One day my older brother asked what I was doing and naturally I replied, “Making Silla Dilla Grape” as though anyone in their right mind would know that’s what my squirrel mud pies were called. My family has teased me about this my whole life and I have always thought that if I ever got up the nerve to put my creative work out into the world, that that is what I would call my business.

  1. You are also a mixed media artist, tell us about your art…

I have always done some sort of art at every point point in my life. Collage and painting or some mix of the two have always been a favorite of mine. When I first opened my etsy shop two years ago, I started by posting my cat collage paintings that I was really into for a while. I haven’t worked on them in for some time and I do not have them currently in my shop because I have pretty much only been focusing on shrink plastic.

  1. Where do you get inspiration for new designs for your shop? What is your favorite design you make?

My inspiration for my new designs come from everywhere. I am constantly making lists on paper and pinning visual inspiration on pinterest. I love all things vintage, macabre and roll & roll to name a few areas of interest. I tend to make the thing on my list that I am most excited about that time. I pretty much have a constantly evolving vision board inside my brain. I wish there where more hours in the day so I could catch up to all the ideas I have and make them reality.

My fave design of mine would have to be my Anne Boleyn brooch. She was originally a custom order and I loved the way that she came out so much that I added her to the shop.

  1. What is the best advice another shop owner has give you? Do you have any advice for others?

The best advise I have gotten from another shop owner is to apply to craft shows even if you are afraid.They are great exposure and experience. And, if you get rejected don’t fret. Just keep on applying.

My advise to any creative person is: DO IT! If I knew a long time ago that people would be interested in the things I enjoy making, I would have put my stuff out there years ago. Instead, I waited thinking they would not buy my stuff. The greatest reward of selling my items has been the connection I have made with the patrons who love the same things I love and dig my interpretation enough to choose me as a seller.

  1. I love how unique your style is, why tacos, burgers, pizza and hot dogs?

Funky food has long been on my idea list. When trying to decide what to make for my contribution for the Indie Craft Sampler, I decided to take the leap and finally make them. I figured everybody loves junk food, so it was a great opportunity to go with a theme that I thought would be more universal than some of the more specific themes that I more frequently go with.

  1. What’s one thing you’re interested in that most people who know you might not know?

I have slightly secret obsession with the Wild West and specifically the westward journey. I’m not sure if it’s because I watched a lot of Little House on the Prairie when I was little, or if its a weird past life thing. I’ve never quite understood it, as I am originally from New York City, which could not be more opposite.

7. Favorite book when you were a child?

Koko’s kitten.

8. What would you sing at Karaoke night?

Love is a battlefield.

  9. If you could have any animal for a pet, what would it be and what would you name it?

I currently have 5 cats (I know) and a tortoise. I am a huge animal lover. I would love to have a farm one day with goats and pigs especially. But, lately I have been really wanting a poodle. I grew up with a poodle named Deputy who live to be 18 years old. I really miss him and would like to have another guy like him again. I’m not sure what I would name him, because I really think that names come to you based on the specific animal, but I do like regular people names like Gary and the like.

10. And finally, why should people visit your shop?

Because I make fun stuff with love and passion. Visit Silla Dilla Grape.

Amanda contributed 50 of her shrink plastic brooches to the April samplers. Each sampler will include 14-16 handmade items. Purchase an April sampler now.

 

 

Leave a Reply

