10 Questions with…Amanda from Bel and Eve’s Herbs

happyEvery week we like to have a fun “10 questions” session with one of our contributors to the Indie Craft Sampler. Some serious, but mostly fun questions. This week we are talking with one of our April contributors, Amanda from Bel and Eve’s Herbs.

1. Is there a story behind your shop name “Bel and Eve’s Herbs”?

I have been making my own beauty products for years and a year and a half ago for Christmas my best friend started asking me if I could make her this and that and it became a long list of items so I thought what the heck I will put it out there for others to see if they want to purchase items for Christmas presents and I got so many orders. That is when I said why not try to open an Etsy shop there is obviously something to this. The first 3 months I did not have 1 order and now I can see so much growth from a year ago. I am so glad I decided to give it a go.

2. I read that you are going to school to be a “master herbalist”…tell us about that…

I am definitely a forever student I love to learn I see so many classes that I want to take on a daily basis. As soon as I completed my Holistic Health coaching degree I went directly into Heart of Herbs online program for master herbalist. I have been interested in herbs since I was 11 or 12 I read the book Lavender Green Magic and was hooked ever since. So I have many years of reading and exploring on my own but I wanted to get a formal degree.

3. Where do you get inspiration for new items/scents for your shop? What is your favorite design you make?

I get inspiration from my friends and customers. When they want me to customize an item that gets my brain spinning and often times that goes on my development list so it can become a permanent fixture at the store.

4. What is the best advice another shop owner has give you? Do you have any advice for others?

It is all about the pictures and since then that is what I have been working on and I see so much improvement in sales and views since having professional pictures done. It is the first thing people see if it does not grab their attention right off the bat they move along and with what I do there is a lot of competition. My advice is never give up…..never there are times that I think what am I doing, or something doesn’t go right and I have spent so much of my time, energy, and resources it is hard my heart goes into my work. But then I get a rave review and I remember why I am doing this so I keep going and improving.

5. What makes you laugh the most?

My children definitely make me laugh the most. They are hilarious the way they say things and what comes out of their mouths cracks me up and makes me smile I am not sure what I did before they were around.DSC_0022

6. Who was your first celebrity crush?

First celebrity crush was definitely Joey from New Kids on the Block…totally showing my age here!!

7. What would you want to do for your next birthday if you could do anything?

At first I was like have a spa day but if we are talking anything goes it would be go to Paris and have a spa day….eat great French food, see all the amazing sights something about that place I really want to go someday.

8. What is one thing you will never do again?

I will never settle ever again for anything in life…relationship, job, nada!!

9. What are your biggest pet peeves?

Biggest pet peeve is people not using their blinker while driving….makes me crazy!! I do a lot of commuting everyday and am not the most patient person.

10. And finally, why should people visit your shop?

People should visit my shop because everything I make is natural, organic, and only scented with essential oils so what you are putting on your face and your body is pure and safe for you and the environment. Not only that but my prices are comparable to what you would pay for conventional beauty products in a regular store and I always add extra samples and goodies in every order so you will get a lovely surprise with every order. Support small businesses and local retailers! Visit Bel and Eve’s Herbs.

BellaneEve300x250
Amanda is one of April super colossal contributors as she sent in 100 of her facial oils for this month’s sampler. Each sampler is filled to the brim with 14-16 handmade items. Purchase an April sampler now.

Leave a Reply

