10 Questions with…Kathleen from Mary’s Remedies

Every week or so we like to have a fun “10 questions” session with one of our contributors to the Indie Craft Sampler. Some serious, but mostly fun questions. This week we are talking with one of our May contributors, Kathleen from Mary’s Remedies.
SAMSUNG DIGIMAX A503
1. Is there a story behind the name of your shop “Mary’s Remedies”?
When I had given birth to my youngest daughter, who is now almost 4, I became very ill due to an infection and exhaustion.  At the same time, my oldest daughter was nearing college age.  While recovering from the illness, I was trying to figure out a way to help pay for her upcoming college.  Since I couldn’t go out to work, I had to think of something else to supplement my husband’s income.  So, when I heard about Etsy, I jumped at the chance.
In my faith, we have different names for Mary, Jesus’ mother.  Each name has a different meaning for her role.  It is very similar to my different names:  mom, Katie, daughter, sister, wife, coworker…etc.  So, Our Lady of Good Remedy is one of Mary’s names.  How she became known as Our Lady of Good Remedy is an interesting story.  Many centuries ago, people were being sold into slavery by the thousands.  Nobody knew what to do.  St. John of Matha founded a group of people, called the Trinitarians, who decided to buy slaves and set them free.  In order for this to happen, he needed a lot of money.  So, they asked Jesus’ mom to help.  She provided miraculously for them.  Over the years, St. John and his group were so successful that they decided to honor Mary under the title of “Our Lady of Good Remedy” because she found a good remedy for their needs.
Fast forward 800 years…Since I wasn’t able to go out to work (since I wasn’t feeling well enough, I had a new baby and I homeschool my other children) I needed a remedy for my needs.  Since I have often asked for Our Lady of Good Remedy’s help for many years, it was only fitting that I name my shop in honor of her.  So, my name isn’t Mary as many people have thought.  My store is named after Mary.  I’ve never dreamed that it would take off like it has.  Over the last 2 years, I have made several thousand dollars to help pay for my daughter’s college.  Our Lady of Good Remedy has provided a good remedy for my need.
2. What is your favorite medium to work with?
I love, love, love working with polymer clay.  It is sooo much fun to make things that look like real food….but they’re not!!
3. Where do you get ideas/inspiration from when coming up with new products for your shop?
I get ideas from many places.  For my miniature food earrings, I see food and I think to myself, “Oh boy, here comes an earring!”  My kids see that look and they know I have to make something.  For my doll food, I find many sources of inspiration.  As I look through recipe books, I find lots of really fun ideas.  I have too many ideas and they come too fast for me to get them all out.  I also look at other people’s shops for inspiration.  Then, I try to make things with my own unique twist.  Another place I find inspiration is by asking my customers what they want to see.  They usually come alive because they finally can allow themselves to dream!
4. Best advice another crafty/indie owner has given you? or something you’ve learned since opening a shop?
Never stop growing!  This can apply to many areas of your life, but I have found this to be very true in my shop.  When I look back at my first items posted, I cringe.  However, I didn’t stop there.  I’ve grown and learned and experimented and gradually I have developed my own flavor.  I believe in me and I think it shows in what I do and in the enthusiasm I have.  People catch that enthusiasm and it inspires them.
5. Five people you find fascinating?
Theresa from Pippaloo.  I love her work.  She creates awesome food for dolls!
 My little daughter, Elizabeth.  I never stop marveling at her.  There is an 8 year gap between my one son and her.  I lost several children between him and her.  Being able to keep her is such an awesome gift.  I am soooo appreciative of her.
 Pope John Paul II.  I know that he is dead now, but I always found him to be like a grandfather to me.  He was very inspiring.  He came from a very difficult time in history and through it all, he never lost his joy and love for humanity.  I miss him so much.
 Chris Tomlin, a Christian musician.  I totally love his music.  I love how he can put down into music things that I would love to say to God.  He makes my relationship with God easier for me by allowing me to feel love for God.  That is important for any relationship.
My first pastor in my church, Father Ols.  He has since moved to another church, but whenever he would come into church for Sunday mass, I always breathed a sigh of relief, because he was there and all was right in my life.  It was like seeing my mom or dad come into the hospital room where I was.  I was safe.  I was loved and cared for.  I wasn’t alone.  When he was on vacation, we felt a void.  The Sunday he came back, my heart smiled—my father was back home.  He was fascinating because he showed us how to love.  He listened to us and taught us the truth in a very beautiful and simple way.  He was truly a shepherd for us…..our pastor.
6. What item do you wish you could have saved from your childhood?
My red coat.  I made it.  It was a Shakespearian style coat and very elaborate.  It was made out of red faux leather and so satisfying to wear.
7. Strangest talent you have?
I don’t know if it is a talent or not, but I like to sing really weird and pretend that I don’t know my kids see me.  Then, when I see them watching me, I pretend to be embarrassed and stop.  It makes for a good time.
8. Favorite quote from a movie?
Oh my gosh!  A few come to mind.
From the movie, “Patriot”:  “Four would be better.”
From “The Scarlet Pimpernel with Anthony Adams”:  “Sync me” (I don’t know if I have that spelled right)
From “The Spitfire Grill”  (I’m going to have to paraphrase)  “Holy mackerel, Holy samole,….Holy S@#$%t!”  My sons say “Holy ship!”  Lol
9. What are 3 things still left on your bucket list?
To visit some friends of ours that live in the other part of the country.
To go back to college
Once I finish college, to begin my work a counselor

10. And finally, why should people visit your shop? 
To help me provide for my kids’ college so that I can stay home!  Also, I have really different things that you really need to have a sense of humor to buy! Visit Mary’s Remedies.
EC8CA6C2-EFB0-11E4-BA35-35099BBB300C[2]
Kathleen contributed 100 glitter globe resin earrings to the May mini-samplers. To purchase a mini sampler click HERE.
Leave a Reply

