10 Questions with…Hannah of HNG Studios

Every week or so we like to have a fun “10 questions” session with one of our contributors to the Indie Craft Sampler. Some serious, but mostly fun questions. This week we are talking with one of our Summer super colossal contributors, Hannah from HNGStudios.SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA 1. How did you get started in loving paper goods?

You know, I’m not sure. I have been scrapbooking and playing with stickers and such for so long. When I decided to make it a business a year ago, it just made sense for me. I have supplies all over my house. Having my business gave me the best excuse to buy more supplies, try new techniques I never would have thought possible, and try new brands that I now love. I am OBSESSED with washi tape. If you don’t know what it is, it’s Japanese rice paper tape. It’s thin, decorative tape you can use on everything. It’s great. I have over 100 rolls. 2. What is the hardest part of being a crafty small business owner?

Getting my name out there in the etsy world and in general. The competition is so great. There are so many people doing wonderful things. that it’s sometimes very hard to get noticed among them. But, even so, it is something I love doing. I wouldn’t want to do anything else. 3. Best advice another crafty/indie shop owner has given you? Do you have any advice for others?

Specifically for fairs, a jewelry owner told me to put my notebooks in display boxes. That has been the best thing ever. It opened up my table. It makes it more interactive. However, I do have to prompt people.

My advice would be to do what you love and do it well. Stick with it because it’s going to be a long, sometimes hard journey. You have to truly love what you chose to do or else it’s going to lose all it’s uniqueness and fail. Who wants that? 4. How/where do you get ideas for new shop items? What is your favorite item you sell?

I get my ideas randomly. They kind of just pop in my head. Sometimes from pinterest (but no stealing!). I have a nice list of dream items I would like to make from postcards to washi tape projects.

My favorite item to sell is my notebooks. I put my everything into them. 5. Three Countries you would like to visit?

Greece, Switzerland, and Norway.

6. If you had to change your name, what would you change it to?

Good question! Chloe Mae Nealon.

7. What was your favorite musical groups in junior high?

Oh, they are a bit embarrassing. I liked bands that were considered “emo” but now listen to much better music thank you very much.

8. Favorite animal/least favorite animal?

I am a cat lover all the way. I don’t like dogs at all, but I don’t think I have a least favorite pet.

9. Any celebrity crushes?

Jesse Eisenberg and so many more.

10. And finally, why should people visit your shop?
You should visit my shop because it is full of unique, one of a kind items that I hand make. I do everything myself. All of my notebooks are really special and different. My items are the perfect gift to give to make someone feel special. And, if you like to scrapbook or journal, I have great, handmade supplies for you as well. I do custom orders and am willing to do new products just for you. Shoot me a message with ideas. Visit HNG Studios.
I am going to be a crazy cat lady and send in a picture of my cats, Hansel and Gretel, because that is who my company is named after.
IMG_1133
*********************************
Hannah contributed 100 paper bookmark sets of 4 for our Summer samplers that will go on sale next week! To sign up for our Sampler Notification Email to be the first to know when they go on sale you can sign up here: http://www.indiecraftsampler.com/#!buy/c1t7j
Leave a Reply

