10 Questions With…Cari from Love Hounds

Every week or so we like to have a fun “10 questions” session with one of our contributors to the Indie Craft Sampler. Some serious, but mostly fun questions. This week we are talking with a repeat contributor Cari from Love Hounds…
honey beg nov

  1. 1. Love Hounds gives money to help homeless basset hounds…is there a story behind why you love supporting this breed specifically? When my husband and I first got married, a Basset Hound named Belle started our obsession with Bassets. We were always looking for fun things to do with her and we found some Basset friendly activities through our local Basset Hound rescue. They had a picnic with a small booth selling Basset-themed gifts and I thought, “Hey I could make things for them to sell…” Now, nearly 20 years later, we have two Bassets and I’ve shown them in conformation and obedience competitions. I wish I could adopt every homeless hound, but I can’t. Crafting for hounds allows me to help many more dogs in need.
  1. You are a college professor by day…what do you teach? What would you love to teach?

I teach a variety of psychology courses including Introductory, Biological Psychology, Behavior Modification, and Research Methods in Psychology. I’m an Experimental Psychologist with an emphasis in Animal Behavior. I’d love to teach canine psychology 😉

  1. Best advice another crafty/indie shop owner has given you? Do you have any advice for others?

I get the best ideas from going to local craft fairs and seeing how other artists set up their displays. I’ve gotten some great low-cost and creative merchandising ideas from shopping indie markets.

  1. How/where do you get ideas for new shop items? What is your favorite item you sell?

My customers inspire me to come up with new ideas. Custom orders and conversations lead me to create something new. For example, a friend of mine said she’d love some dog themed wine charms; I love both dogs and wine, so I quickly whipped some up!

My favorite thing to create is anything based on my customer’s photos, especially memorial pieces for dogs or cats who have crossed the rainbow bridge. Seeing how these pets are cherished renews my faith in humanity.kisses

  1. What is the craziest thing you have ever done?

Moved to Durham, North Carolina, sight unseen, with nowhere to live, and a Ziploc baggie full of money to become a post-doctoral scholar at Duke University. I learned a lot and met great people, so it worked out!

  1. Three pet peeves of yours?

Begging, whining, and complaining. By dogs or students (LOL).

  1. What are some things you were obsessed with when you were a child?

Dogs, roller skating, reading, writing, and playing “school” (yes, I was the teacher).

  1. What are some of the things that you love/don’t love about where you live?

I love the weather in Southern California and the relaxed casualness. We can go to the fanciest restaurants in jeans. However, it’s crowded and housing is expensive.

  1. What is the last thing you learned?

I am doing an internship to become a Certified Applied Animal Behaviorist—a therapist for dogs (and cats) who applies the science of learning to solve behavior problems in pets. I’ve learned that many people live with troubling behavior problems in their pets because they don’t know where to go for help. There’s also a lot of misinformation out there.

10. And finally, why should people visit your shop?

They can find great gifts for the dog lovers in their life and help homeless and abused hounds at the same time! Visit Love Hounds.

lovehounds.etsy.com

Cari contributed 75 of her super fun dog themed items from magnets, to wine charms, etc. for the summer samplers. They will go on sale today/tonight…stay tuned!

One thought on “10 Questions With…Cari from Love Hounds

Leave a Reply

