10 Questions With…Melissa from BeeMoreArtistic

Now that summer is over and the sampler is back in action…every week or so we like to have a fun “10 questions” session with one of our contributors to the Indie Craft Sampler. Some serious, but mostly fun questions. This week we are talking with Melissa from BeeMoreArtistic.BeeMoreArtistic.Etsy.Com

1. So when did you realize that you could paint?
Idk I hummm been drawing/painting since I was little. I starred painting in highschool, I took all the art classes and the advance ones, plus I had private lessons once a week. I really learned to practice my 
technic in collage. I learned how to oil paint there. My art teacher still has the first oil painting I ever did, and did my first all my own art show in collage too.
2. What is the hardest part of being a crafty small business owner?
The competition out there, there are just so many beautiful things on etsy.
 

3. Where do you get ideas/inspiration from when coming up with new products for your shop?
Honestly Google images of animals and stuff. Then I’m like what if I made a cat green or a purple octopus. I just try to be different. And sometimes from Norman reedus’ page 

 
4. Best advice another crafty/indie owner has given you?
Never give up and dream big
 
5. Do you have any advice? or something you’ve learned since opening a shop?
Take simple beautiful pictures and have at least a page or two or listing in your shop
 

6. What are some things that freak you out?
Not much freaks me out, but I have to do some face painting for a fundraiser, and I’ve never done anything like before. Kinda sad? I’m just so afraid i might screw up and have to deal with a bratty kid. It’s not till September 6, but still kinda scary for me. But my stage fright will be gone like  a minute later, (once I start painting). It’s always been like that for me, whenever I’ve been on stage (in highschool) nervous right before I when on, then gone a minute later.


7. Five people you find fascinating?

Five? Mostly Norman reedus, and dark magazine posts on Facebook. He’s just so different from anyone I’ve ever meet, I’m playing it cool. If I’m lucky he might notice me one day. But I very much doubt he knows I exist. Oh god I hope I don’t sound like a crazy stalker, cause I’m not. 

 
Dark magazine, I love what they post. There’s just a simple beauty in their work. 
 
Doctor who, love that show one of my favs. And supernatural I love all the inside and nerdy jokes they do. Plus Jared and Jenkins are really hot! And funny 
 

8. Favorite quote from a movie?

May the wind always be at your back, 
The sun upon your face and the
Wings of destiny carry you aloft
To dance with the stars

9. We know you can paint…what is a different talent you wish you had?

I wish I could sing, I sometimes sing in the car when I’m alone; helps to pass the long drives

10. And finally, why should people visit your shop? 

Du! Because handmade is the best. And people say how much they love my work. 
 ****************************************************************
Melissa contributed 100 ACEO’s for the upcoming September Indie Craft sampler! Stay tuned for sneak peeks!
Leave a Reply

